Right Through My Chest

So I was walking out of the valley & there you were standing in front of the Kitchen

The first time I caught your blood-shot eye

1, 2, 3 & 5, you tossed another glance back at my direction

& I knew for sure we were on the same side

 

But then you were carried away at the sight of your female company

All the way from India the land of spices

I was left right there, like a food struck by the invention of another moon

With a broken heart & a broken bike

 

All those 20 years I’ve been trying to live, I’ve been trying to learn

All those prices I’ve paid, all the beds I’ve made, And the bridges burnt

They all prove undone in this case

Cuz there’s this bit that I know:

There’s a lot of different ways to kill a man

But you chose the one that went right through my chest.

 

2 months later I was browsing away for another Friday Grinder

And your face came up shining brightly

Your message sent months ago saying “Hi” but I was too much of a dummy to miss the reply

Kept my cool up, I apologized

 

I thanked God right there that “fate” still existed

Asking you out for chicken fried

You said Thursday and then Friday and then came another following Friday

I was left hanging to your unmade-up mind.

 

All those 20 years I’ve been trying to live, I’ve been trying to learn

All those prices I’ve paid, all the beds I’ve made, And the bridges burnt

They all prove undone in this case

Cuz there’s this bit that I know:

There’s a lot of different ways to kill a man

But you chose the one that went right through my chest.

It was a  frat party that my mates exhaustedly extensively convincingly dragged me into

I regretted going untill I saw you

Drunk, passed out, devouring your wasted girlfriend’s pretty mouth

Irish men have drinking problems, don’t you?

Pushed by a nerd, I gathered all my nerves

Dancing my way to the middle of the dance floor

To confront you but those shiny ladies friends of yours

Flocked all around, making a herd, vomitting words one barely comprehends

I lighted another cigarette, it’s time to stay a single man.

 

All those 20 years I’ve been trying to live, I’ve been trying to learn

All those prices I’ve paid, all the beds I’ve made, And the bridges burnt

They all prove undone in this case

Cuz there’s this bit that I know:

There’s a lot of different ways to kill a man

But you chose the one that went right through my chest.

This entry was published on March 29, 2016 at 5:41 pm and is filed under Lyrics, Will. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

